Where the Sun Don’t Shine…

… is where I am right now.

Stunning view of... clouds.

I have now been entrenched in monsoon for a month.  I’ve started a new job–teaching art at the Woodstock School, an international school in the foothills of the Himalayas (see post from last March, Winterline)–and the school year starts off with a red-carpet welcome in the form of a damp, moldy rag.

I now have a whole new understanding of the word wet. In all its soggy, rainy, misty, pouring, moist, unadulterated wetness.

It has basically been raining for a month straight, with the occasional lapse into cloudiness. I woke up the other morning to the sound of water flowing–not just on my roof, but IN MY ROOM.  There was a leak, not a drip-drip-drip leak, but a cry-me-a-river cascade.  This then wrought two days of men on the roof, pounding incessantly and yelling to each other.  This would have been fine, except I’ve been sick with a bad, chesty cold and so was home in bed trying to get a little rest.

AAAAaaahhhh….

I have a sign up in my room that reads:

On the plus side:

Adorable little ones dressed for Independence Day (my youngest students). They call me "Miss Rebecca" and I want to take every single one home.

 

Lush, verdant growth everywhere!

Wall of windows in room

Pretty pink flowers

and peacock feathers.

 

 

 

About rebeccalayton

I am an artist traveling and studying in India and Southeast Asia. You can see some of my artwork at www.rebeccalayton.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where the Sun Don’t Shine…

  1. Think of yourself as a mermaid

  2. CHICA! Catching up on some reading here and if it makes you feel any better we went through the EXACT. SAME. THING. exactly a year ago just across the hill. Do you have good tea? What do you need from home?! Are you keeping warm enough? Blast that damn monsoon. Hopefully because it was so especially long and bad last year it won’t (can’t!) be as bad this year. Love you to pieces and thinking of you every minute.

    xoxo from Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

